MovieZone HAFF Award 2016 Jury statement



MovieZone HAFF Jury

The MovieZone HAFF Jury is an initiative of EYE Filmmusem, in collaboration with the Holland Animation Film Festival. It is a youth jury and it is present at all the large film festivals in The Netherlands. Not only do the youngsters learn to watch film, they also meet a lot of filmmakers and professionals. In short: they experience the festival from the inside.

The MovieZone HAFF Jury 2016 included four young people between 15 and 18 years old: Misha van der Hoef, Christian Brandwijk, Julie van Bemmel and Joey Jansen.

They nominated 3 films out of 53 shorts. The preselection included a variety of narrative and non-narrative shorts made with different animation techniques.

Sunday the 20th of March the jury will announce the winner of the MovieZone HAFF Award 2016. The winning film has a chance of being included in the film education programme of EYE and the Short Film Pool.

Jury statement

In the last couple days we had an amazing time. We visited a lot of short films. The Breakfast Show was a good begin of the day and we met a lot of makers of long and short films. At first, it looked impossible for us to choose 3 nominations out of the 53 shorts. With lots of late nights, discussions, thinking and snacks, we came to a decision for the 3 nominations.

We call the nominees in alphabetical order:

Signed by the MovieZone HAFF jury 2016

The first nominated film is ... *Ticking Away* by Michael Sewnarain

The contrast in colours accompanied by a mesmerising soundtrack, gives this film a weight of emotion; told as loudly as a silent film possibly could. A story so captivating, it doesn't leave your mind the moment it fades from the screen. Truly a masterpiece with an animation style that matches its excellence.

The second nominated film is ... *Track* by Tochka, Monno Kazue, Takeshi Nagata This is a movie where you can see they've put in a lot of effort. It also shows that we've come to a new era of making animation. It made a huge impact even though we saw it only one time.

The third nominated film is ... $\boldsymbol{Unhappy\; Happy}$ by Peter Millard

This colourful piece that plays with its audience, will without a doubt put a smile on your face. Bold music, abstract transitions and absurdity contribute to its character and unique style. You won't forget about this film anytime soon.

The winning film is a beautiful animation that really inspired us all with its new technique. The winner of the MovieZone HAFF Award 2016 is... *Track* by Tochka, Monno Kazue, Takeshi Nagata.

Utrecht, 20 March 2016				
Misha van der Hoef	Joeu Jansen	Christian Brandwiik	Julie van Bemmel	•••